History of Food Science and Technology

The Department was established in 2011/2012 Academic Session as one of the seven Departments in the Faculty of Agriculture after a Nigerian University Commission (NUC) Resource Verification and Approval of the programme. The following have served as Heads of Department since the establishment of the Department:

Prof. F. C. Ogbo                                                                                 2011 – 213

Dr. E. C. Igwe                                                                                     2013 – 2014

Dr. J. E. Obiegbuna                                                                            2014 – 2019

Dr. H. O. Agu                                                                                     2019 – Date

The Department started with fifty-two students on the nominal roll in 2011/2012 Academic Session and there has been a gradual increase in the number of enrolment of students since its inception.