The Faculty of Agriculture came into being as a result of the approval given to it at the 258th meeting of University Management held on 8th February, 2010. Professor Nnabude was appointed the Acting Dean of the Faculty who later presented the programmes captured in the proposal to Senate. In the same Management meeting, the Director of Academic Planning (DAP), Prof. Rob. I. Egwuatu, was directed to write the NUC for a visit on the matter. He was further directed via a letter Ref: NUC/UMC/37B/Vol. XVII/209 dated 12th February 2010 to implement Management decision that the University will admit students into the Faculty of Agriculture with effect from 2010/2011 academic session. Senate at its sitting (S/2009/-010/m.141/155) deliberated and approved the establishment of the following Departments under the
Faculty of Agriculture:
1. Agricultural Economics and Extension (AEC)
2. Animal Science and Technology (AST)
3. Crop Science and Horticulture (CSH)
4. Fisheries and Aquaculture Technology (FAT)
5. Food Science and Technology (FST)
6. Forestry and Wild Life Management (FWM)
7. Soil Science and Land Resources Management (SSL).